The Forbidden Fruit

As a little boy I do recall

The grouchy man across the boundary wall

And in his garden the apple tree

And the fruit that was embedded in its leaves

 

The Forbidden Fruit we called it

And each one of us desired to bite it

But try as we might we were chased off

By Old Jack and his dog Roff

 

We bet each other again and again

To see who would manage to win

But all we’d achieve were bruises and floggings

For irking Old Jack and prying about his belongings

 

But then one day by sheer luck and of course idiocy

I jumped the wall like a cat ever silently

Deeper into The Garden of Eden I slowly moved

Approaching the Apple tree with cold sweat drenching me through

 

And then I could feel the tree bark in my very hands

As if I was a traveller experiencing new lands

So I climbed the tree to the very top for that’s where I supposed

Would be the sweetest of fruit so through the branches I rose

 

When I finally reached the top I felt like a mountaineer

Who had climbed Everest with success very near

I plucked the fruit – Oh! Success is truly sweet!

And I clambered down then jumped landing on my feet

 

From that very day as a hero I was hailed

And on the walls of The Hall of Fame my picture was nailed

Well of course we had no actual hall – the hall was in everyone’s minds

But I was content as I had left all my friends behind

 

And as a little boy I do recall

The grouchy man across the boundary wall

And in his garden the apple tree

And how he never got to find out about me

 

2 thoughts on “The Forbidden Fruit

Leave a Reply

