Afternoon Slumbers

The burnt orange blanket

Swept across the ground

As the wind whispered

Through the forest all around

 

I pulled my tweed jacket

Closer to my chest

For the wind slithered

Like a snake in unrest

 

I heard the leaves rustle

In surreptitious tones

As if they were talking

Of Nature’s unearthly undertones

 

It came to me suddenly

As I walked beneath the stars

That my bare soles were torn

From my journey so far

 

But such is the price

When you walk the road taken

You don fine shoes

And your eyes do not awaken

 

But I pave a virgin road

And feel it myself I must

Before I recommend it

For in it I need to trust

 

For afternoon slumbers

No time is offered to me

Of which I am not sad

As I never expected it to be

Leave a Reply

