Bald is Beautiful

baldforacause

A week and a day ago, on March 1, 2014 we had this event at my school called Bald For A Cause.

Whoever said looks define you was ugly at heart.

The philosophy of this cause is to stand by those undergoing chemotherapy and are insecure about their looks – having to go bald.
I received criticism for doing this such as: ‘Yuck! What the Hell have you done?’, ‘WTF, dude?’ and so on and so forth. The fact of the matter is, it doesn’t bother me. I don’t have to worry about keeping my hair clean for quite a long time. It’s nice having the wind slipping across your scalp. And as my friend says, ‘feeling the sun on your bald head.’

The concept of donating hair for wigs for chemotherapy patients was associated with this cause, which I find – to be blatantly honest – a contradiction of the promoted philosophy: ‘You don’t need to have hair to be a prince or a princess.’ The reason I say this is because instead of making those who are forced to go bald during this operation, feel good, there is this donation of hair in order to make wigs for them.

I feel that this is rather wrong. Go bald to support cancer patients. Show them that you don’t need to have hair to be a prince or a princess. Show them and the rest of the world that looks don’t matter!

Some may say bold is beautiful.

But remember: Bald is Always Beautiful.

P.S. I know I have some hair in the photo but this was taken the next day. And surprisingly, my hair grew quite a bit overnight. On March 2, my hair length was a millimetre and now it’s, sadly, about an inch.

2 thoughts on “Bald is Beautiful

    1. The Poet in Pyjamas says:

      I wouldn’t usually approve the publishing of the above comment. However, yes, I had to take some action. How else are you supposed to bring about awareness or inspire thought? More often than not, words are not enough.

Leave a Reply

