Icarus Jay

I met a man named Icarus,

A washed-up odd soul.

He never raised his eyes to the sky,

For something had burnt him whole.

 

I met a man named Icarus,

Who happened to teach me much.

He spoke at length of flying and falling,

Yet he’d never move as such.

 

I met a man named Icarus,

Who pushed me off a cliff.

He told me I could take the winds,

And he always chewed on his spliff.

 

And that is how I found myself,

Soaring after a jay.

I was much too close to the sun,

Before my wings frayed.

 

I plummeted in a twirl,

Into the foaming mouth of the sea.

But I knew how to fall,

So I was not worried.

 

Icarus taught me much;

Yes, I knew how to fall.

But he never taught me,

How to get up again.

They found me in a sprawl.

 

5 thoughts on “Icarus Jay

Leave a Reply

