The Man in the Mirror II

Who is that man in the mirror,

Staring back at me?

I do know that is not who,

I once was.

I have changed it seems.

 

He appears a fair bit wrinkled,

Not by complexion but by soul.

And his heart,

It is set,

But the cement is a sinkhole.

 

There is a spark in his eyes,

Maybe it’s a reflection in his spectacles.

But now I see him squint;

Is he judging me?

Perhaps I am just sceptical.

 

He is not who I ever was,

But maybe who I’ll be.

I notice his clothes,

I can tell he is a modest man,

One with mighty dreams.

 

Who is that man in the mirror,

Staring back at me?

I do know that is not who,

I once was.

I have changed it seems.

 


Note: The very first ‘The Man in the Mirror’ can be found in my debut anthology, Wildflower Sea, available at Amazon, Kobo Books, and Barnes & Noble.

One thought on “The Man in the Mirror II

Leave a Reply

