Red

When I was a little lad,

I slipped into the duvet,

And hit my head,

Against the bed,

Yet kept tumbling away.

 

I landed like a lifebuoy,

In a sea of green people,

But I was blue,

And I was strewn,

As they stirred an upheaval.

 

I settled on the sand,

Like a single wet footprint,

To just be washed,

My insides sloshed,

Like expired peppermint.

 

Then I woke whole,

With my heart in my mouth,

I cringed,

With a twinge,

Just to spit it all out.

 

But I ran into a red world,

With black shapes raining down,

I scuttled,

I snuffled,

And closed my eyes to get out.

 

I rose pale, perspiring,

From the waves of the duvet,

I was dripping,

I was kicking,

But I’d be okay.

 

One thought on “Red

Leave a Reply

