Milk & Honey

Slip down my throat like milk and honey,

Soothing my words before they

Pounce off my tongue,

And dive into the atmosphere,

On a cloud from my lungs.

 

Stir in me like a golden hurricane,

Dancing with my heart before it

Misses the beat,

And twirls to the music,

Not written on the sheet.

 

Settle down deep like snow after a blizzard,

Collecting wild thoughts before they

Dissolve into a dream,

That the nightlight may watch over,

But dawn will never glean.

 

2 thoughts on “Milk & Honey

  1. Dad says:

    Lovely!! Oh to dream those sweet dreams and think those happy thoughts and wistfully think them slip away from the first stirrings of slumber.

Leave a Reply

