Let’s be Real

I made it halfway

Without a single drag

When my pants caught

On a rose bush

And they snagged

She said –

Honestly

Can’t you do anything right?

You’ve got a melodic bark

But your words don’t bite

 

– And then there was

Something

About the way I moved

She said –

Did you know I’m in love with you?

– I said

I’m flattered

And she was aghast

She told me –

You’ll never be happy

– I laughed

 

She said –

Let’s be real

You’ve got to stop

Minding words

Break down

Your masoned heart

Because your love

Is absurd

 

– She sighed

Then queried –

When will your

Tongue

Not tailor

Tales?

When will you

Adopt a patch

Of earth?

When will your

Skin

Not crawl

With those inked words?

 

– There she paused

Took a breath

And said

One final time –

Be real

I beg you be true

 

– I replied

How can I

When the truth’s a

Lie for you?

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s be Real

Leave a Reply

