The Man in the Mirror III

Who is that man in the mirror,

Staring back at me?

I do believe that is not who,

I was before.

Is glad what I should be?

 

He strikes a fairer figure,

Not by complexion but by soul.

And his heart,

It is not taxed,

But things have taken their toll.

 

He wears his words on his arm,

And we both slowly clench our fists.

He looks me dead in the eye.

Could he be just as strong?

Will a fight be the end of this?

 

And I take a stance,

Thinking it’s like a dance,

Only to realise I’m unfit,

That I was not a floating bee,

But a simple wordsmith.

 

I let out a chuckle,

He cracks a smile too.

Though his motives are not clear,

I can tell he’s a worthy match

But fear him I shan’t do.

 

Who is that man in the mirror,

Staring back at me?

I do believe that is not who,

I was before.

Is glad what I should be?

 


Note: Click here for Part II. The very first ‘The Man in the Mirror’ can be found in my debut anthology, Wildflower Sea, available at Amazon, Kobo Books, and Barnes & Noble.

One thought on “The Man in the Mirror III

Leave a Reply

